jump to navigation

Passionflower Vine August 8, 2007

Posted by barn owl in energy use, gardening.
trackback

My AC condenser unit was inconveniently placed on the west side of the house, so we built a screen to shade it in the afternoons. I’ve trained a passionflower vine around the latticework, and periodically it produces dozens of baroque (and rather louche, I think) flowers. Not surprisingly, the southwestern US was not as heavily populated before the days of AC. This year has been unusually rainy, but in a typical year this region is semi-arid. I’m working on xeriscaping parts of my backyard, but of course the lawn can be pretty water-intensive (looks like crap when it dries out too-I’ve tried that).

passionflower

Comments»

1. Dausta - August 8, 2007

I love the picture of the passionflower. I would love to see what it looks like covering the lattice.


Leave a Reply

